US Republicans Side With Halliburton & KBR Against Gang-Raped Woman

The following is from a friend of mine who reads my blog and wanted to share their experience with something happening right now in Congress.  Per the author’s request, I am leaving their submission anonymous.

~Nat

This is a truly disgusting story and unfortunately not uncommon. When I arrived into theater in 2004 I was informed in the most casual ways that I had a 98% chance of being raped in my first 2 months. I was, from my very first hour there, sexually harassed, intimidated and made to feel like there was nothing I could do about it. Bets were taken right in front of me on how long it would take for me to finally sleep with someone and then I was taken aside by a few of the men and asked to please not let it be more than a certain amount of time as they didn’t want to lose.

I was in Baghdad for nearly six full months. I lived, worked and socialized with my American co-workers 7 days a week.  I was lucky, I was never raped in all that time. However, I was sexually assaulted, twice. My flat-mate, someone I shared an adjoining wall with, who was about to become my boss’s boss within the next 6 to 8 weeks, was the perpetrator in both incidents. I won’t go into the details of either incident because it is unnecessary to know how things played out. Needless to say after telling the local HR officials, I was not transferred, neither was he and in order to not stay in the situation, I had to quit my job.

I did file an HR complaint. I tried to file a complaint with the US Government, but to no avail.  I feel I am lucky – had anything worse happened to me I would have been in the same position as this woman because EVERY contracting company makes you sign a waiver from suing the company and only use arbitration.

What makes me so sad is that THIRTY Congressmen, including former Presidential Nominee McCain, voted against a bill that would empower the employees and enable them to take the proper legal action required to see justice.  I am SO incredibly happy the appeals court ruled the way it did.

To close out, here is a clip from The Daily Show.

2 responses to “US Republicans Side With Halliburton & KBR Against Gang-Raped Woman

  1. http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1109/29439.html

    “Privately, GOP sources acknowledge that they failed to anticipate the political consequences of a “no” vote on the amendment. And several aides said that Republicans are engaged in an internal blame game about why they agreed to a roll-call vote on the measure, rather than a simple voice vote that would have allowed the opposing senators to duck criticism.”

    Manu Raju, Politico, 11/12/2009

  2. Pingback: Franken Amendment, Republican Strategy, and the Failure of Governance « Energy, Environment, and Security

Leave a Reply

